GRR on X  GRR on Facebook GRR in Instagram GRR Vimeo Library GRR on YouTube RuggaMatrix America Podcasts Support GRR on Patreon

Scholz, Sorensen Finalists!

irish rugby tours

Scholz, Sorensen Finalists!

Sponsored by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle, the Rudy Scholz Award is presented to the top men's DI college rugby player for the school year 2017-18, and the MA Sorensen Award is presented to the top women's DI college player.

After a panel created a list of nominees, and fans and coaches voted, we are down to five finalists for each category. Here they are:

The Rudy Scholz Award Finalists are:

Nick Feakes, flyhalf for Lindenwood University

Vili Helu, No. 8 for Saint Mary's College

Jake Lachina, fullback/wing/center for Army

Connor McNerney, No. 8 for Navy

Kyle Rogers, fullback for Arizona


The Sorensen Award Finalists Are

Sui A'au, center for Central Washington University

McKenzie Hawkins, center for Lindenwood University

Maya Learned, prop for Harvard University

Ilona Maher, No. 8 and center for Quinnipiac University

Grace Taito, loose forward for Brigham Young University


Sponsored by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle, the Sorensen Award is named after pioneering USA national team player Maryann Sorensen. The Scholz Award is named after Rudy Scholz, who played rugby at Santa Clara, fought in two world wars, and won two Olympic Gold Medals for the USA in rugby, in 1920 and 1924.

A panel of coaches, USA Rugby representatives, and media will select the winner in the next couple of weeks. The winner will be honored at a gala dinner June 9 at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle.