Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

Day One Done At Rocking LA Sevens

irish rugby tours

Day One Done At Rocking LA Sevens

David Barpal photo.

Australia, Fiji and New Zealand all topped their pools with perfect records on an exhilarating first day of action before a robus and vocal crowd at the HSBC Los Angeles Sevens.

Hosts USA, who are aiming for a hattrick of victories on home soil, thrilled an enthusiastic crowd with victories in their opening two matches to secure a quarter-final spot before losing to Australia in their final pool game on day one of the HSBC Los Angeles Sevens at the Dignity Health Sports Park. Australia topped Pool C with three successive victories over Scotland, Samoa and USA.

The Eagles beat Samoa and Scotland, both times coming back from early deficits.

200 For Isles, And The Game-Winner

Eagles Explode In 2nd Half To Beat Scotland In LA 7s

But the final game of the day was a disappointment. Australia did well to dominate possession, and the Eagles turned the ball over either through holding-on penalties or getting shoved into touch. The Aussies didn't like losing to the USA in Australia last time out, so were eager to return the favor.

Reigning Olympic Champions Fiji were on fine form, dominating Pool A with victories over France, Argentina and invitational team Korea. France, who currently sit third in the series standings, claimed the runners up position to qualify for the quarterfinals.

Current Series leaders New Zealand showed why they are on top of the standings with a trio of convincing wins to reach tomorrow’s quarter finals as Pool D winners. A last minute try by Ben Harris in a 21-17 defeat to the All Blacks was enough to secure England’s passage to the quarterfinals as Pool D runners up on points difference from Spain and Wales.

Pool B saw South Africa come out on top with victories over Canada and Kenya and a thrilling 19-19 draw with Ireland in the last game of the pool, which meant the newly promoted Irish team qualify for the quarter-finals.

The quarter-final line up sees reigning Series Champions Fiji take on England at 09:43 PT followed by Australia v Ireland. Current series leaders New Zealand face France while South Africa and USA complete the schedule.

Play gets underway at 08:15 local time when Argentina take on Wales in the first of the ninth place quarter-finals. The final takes place at 16:26 local time.