GRR on X  GRR on Facebook GRR in Instagram GRR Vimeo Library GRR on YouTube RuggaMatrix America Podcasts Support GRR on Patreon

College Rugby Awards Get Award of Their Own

irish rugby tours

College Rugby Awards Get Award of Their Own

Wayne Milner poses with the NAACAD Athletic Event of the Year award.

The inaugural Rudy Scholz and MA Sorensen Awards have been honored for an award in their own right.

The Scholz and Sorensen Awards were created by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle, Wash., in conjunction with Goff Rugby Report and with the support of USA Rugby's Collegiate division, and recognize the best Men's and Women's collegiate rugby players.

The awards were named after two-time Olympic gold medal winner Rudy Scholz (for the men's award), and World Cup-winning prop MA Sornesen (for the women). In a gala event on June 11 the awards were presented to Dylan Audsley of Saint Mary's and Hope Rogers of Penn State.

The event itself was a big success, and then this past week the North American Association of Club Athletic Directors presented the Washington Athletic Club with the "Athletic Event of the Year" award. The award was presented to Wayne Milner, Senior VP of the WAC, who was instrumental in starting the award and staging the event.

College rugby players should watch for nominations and information about voting in next season's award in the fall.

The Scholz family pose with the Scholz Award trophy and Dylan Audsley mom, Michelle Audsley Myers (Dylan was in New Zealand), and Hope Rogers shows off her trophy alongside MA Sorensen. Photos courtesy Washington Athletic Club.
Scholz and Audsley family.
Hope Rogers and MA Sorensen