Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

West Point's Larry Williams Wins Rudy Scholz Award

irish rugby tours

West Point's Larry Williams Wins Rudy Scholz Award

Larry Williams takes it up for Army. Adam Smith photo.

West Point tighthead prop Larry Williams has won the 2021-22 Rudy Scholz Award as the best men's collegiate rugby player in the country.

Williams, who helped lead Army to their first-ever D1A Championship last week in Houston.

A product of the Clayton HS program in North Carolina, Williams was a rock for a powerful Black Knights scrum during a historic championship run this season. He was nominated by the Scholz Award panel in the fall, and through votes from fans, team representatives, and experts, was named a finalist earlier this spring.

The Scholz Award Selection Panel then voted this week on the four finalists, and chose Williams.

Get to Know the Scholz Finalists: Larry Williams

Williams will officially receive the award at a gala awards dinner at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle, Wash. The WAC is the sponsor of the Scholz Award and has been presenting the award, along with the MA Sorensen Award for the top women's player, since 2016. The award is named after Rudy Scholz, who who played his rugby at Santa Clara, was decorated for his service in both WWI and WWII, and won two Olympic Gold Medals for the USA in rugby, in 1920 and 1924. 

Rudy Scholz's commitment to the game and his achievements as a professional (he was a lawyer for many years) and his service to the country all provide an excellent example of the best of American collegiate rugby.