GRR on X  GRR on Facebook GRR in Instagram GRR Vimeo Library GRR on YouTube RuggaMatrix America Podcasts Support GRR on Patreon

Virginia Tech, Penn to Join MARC

irish rugby tours

Virginia Tech, Penn to Join MARC

Virginia Tech in action this past fall. Will Fagan photo.

The Mid-Atlantic Rugby Conference has announced that it is bringing two new members into the conference at the D1AA competition level.

The University of Pennsylvania will be joining effective for spring 2023 7s competition; Virginia Tech Rugby Football Club will be joining effective for fall 2023 15s competition. 

The University of Pennsylvania was previously a member of the Ivy League. Founded in 1889, the Penn Men's Rugby & Football Club has over 40 undergraduate players, including top talent from prestigious high school rugby programs across the world, as well as players who are handling a rugby ball for the first time.

“The Penn Men's Rugby & Football Club is excited to join the Mid-Atlantic Rugby Conference as it presents an opportunity for the club to compete with some of the best universities in the country at a high level of rugby," said club president Ben Swan.

Virginia Tech was a previously a member of Rugby East and will continue in Rugby East for spring 2023 7s competition until joining the MARC in fall 2023. Founded in 1968, Virginia Tech Rugby won NCR's D1AA playoffs in both 2021 and 2022 (fall playoffs) defeating West Chester in the 2021 final and Louisville in the 2022 final. 

Changes to Rugby East For Fall 2023

"We are excited to join the MARC conference and look to continue to compete at the highest level of D1AA Rugby," said club president Hunter Danesi.  

The addition of these two teams give the MARC Eleven D1AA teams that will be competing in fall 2023:  James Madison University, Rowan University, Rutgers University, Salisbury University, Saint Joseph’s University, Temple University, University of Delaware, University of Maryland, University of Pennsylvania, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Chester University.