Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

SCIRF Names All-League Team

irish rugby tours

SCIRF Names All-League Team

Aidan Konja passes the ball out for St. Augustine.

The Southern California Interscholastic Rugby Federation (SCIRF) has named its 2019-2020 All-League Team, and also named St. Augustine scrumhalf Aidan Konja at Player of the Year.

As the SCIRF looks to gain official acceptance in the California Interscholastic Federation, it will issue patches for each player to put on their latterman jackets.

"SCIRF is working to create more recognition for their high school rugby players," said St. Augustine Athletic Director Matt Linville. "They have organized and run the league to be as closely aligned with CIF rules, standards and expectations.

SCIRF champion St. Augustine added four other players to the All-League selections. Those players are led by US Miltiary Academy commit Matt DeFrates at flyhalf. Runner-up San Clemente adds three players, while also notable was   the excellent Torrey Pines flyhalf Oren Cargill.

San Marcos dominated the Gold Division in SCIRF, which is a division below the Platinum Division that St. Augustine won. And San Marcos impressed enough to get Cooper McMullin on the All-League team.

Here is the full list:

2019-2020 SCIRF Player of the Year: Aidan Konja, St. Augustine

Player Spotlight: Aidan Konja, St. Augustine

A three year varsity letterman and starting scrumhalf for the Saints, Konja helped his team win league three consecutive years and get to three finals in a row. This year, he helped lead the Saints to their first championship in school history.

“Being the Athlete of the Year is a testament to the hard work and dedication from Aidan," said Linville.

SCIRF All-League Selections

Matt De Frates, St. Augustine

Michael Colucci, St. Augustine

Jack Page, St. Augustine

Travis Hall, St. Augustine

Kyle Kerr, San Clemente

Alex Anawalt, San Clemente

Trevor Skeffington, San Clemente

Thomas Cassidy, Cathedral Catholic

Lukas Otinero, Cathedral Catholic

Oren Cargill, Torrey Pines

Vincent Tijernas Green, Torrey Pines

Nola Opalski, La Costa Canyon

Christian Hunter, Mira Costa

Damian Medrano, Fallbrook

Cooper McMullin, San Marcos