Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

MARC D2 Men Welcome 11 New Teams

irish rugby tours

MARC D2 Men Welcome 11 New Teams

Villanova and Lehigh are still in the MARC, but they have a lot more competition now.

The Mid-Atlantic Rugby Conference (MARC) Board of Directors have approved the addition of 11 new men’s collegiate D2 and Small College members, bringing into the fold teams from the former Potomac Rugby Conference.

The teams will form a 27-team men's D2/Small College hybrid conference as part of National Collegiate Rugby (NCR). MARC now numbers 52 programs as members encompassing DIAA (eight teams), D2/Small-College hybrid (27), Women's D2 (11), and additional small-college programs.

All of the men's competitions are being operated under NCR, with the women's conference competing as part of the American Collegiate Rugby Association (ACRA). 

The teams that have joined the MARC D2/Small-College league are: American University (Washington, DC), Catholic University of America (Washington DC), Frostburg State University (Frostburg, Md.), George Washington University (Washington, DC), Georgetown University (Washington, DC), Howard University (Washington DC), Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, Md.), Loyola University of Maryland (Baltimore, Md.), Mount St. Mary’s C side (Emmitsburg, Md.), St. Mary’s College of Maryland (St. Mary’s City, Md.), and University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC) (Baltimore, Md.).

Historically Black Colleges the Next Great Rugby Opportunity

Now one of the largest collegiate conference entities in the nation, MARC serves teams spread across the entire Mid-Atlantic region—Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington, DC.  

The Men's D2 league will also include small-college teams in four separate divisions. Once the regular season is over, the small-college teams will funnel to NCR's small-college postseason, while the D2 teams will go into NCR's D2 playoffs. MARC will also provide small-college teams with 15s, 10s, and 7s competitions to ensure that every team, even if it is struggling for numbers, will be able to play.

MARC D2/Small College Hybrid 15s Divisions

Keystone East
Drexel University 
East Stroudsburg
Lehigh University 
Moravian University
The College of New Jersey
Villanova University 

Keystone West
Bucknell University 
Bloomsburg University 
Shippensburg University 
Susquehanna University
University of Scranton
York College of PA

Catholic University
Frostburg State University
Georgetown University
George Washington University 
Loyola University of Maryland
Mount St Mary's University C Side
Towson University 
University of Maryland Baltimore County

Keystone Small College 15s
Albright College
Gettysburg College
Haverford University 
Marywood University 
Millersville University 
Penn State University-Berks
Widener University