GRR on X  GRR on Facebook GRR in Instagram GRR Vimeo Library GRR on YouTube RuggaMatrix America Podcasts Support GRR on Patreon

Wyatt Parry Wins 2024 Scholz Award

irish rugby tours

Wyatt Parry Wins 2024 Scholz Award

Wyatt Parry moves the ball for BYU against Central Washington.

Wyatt Parry of BYU has been named the 2024 winner of the Rudy Scholz Award as the best male collegiate rugby player in the United States.

A product of what is now the Tribal rugby program in St. George, Utah, Parry is the architect of a high-flying BYU attack and he led BYU to two straight D1A semifinal appearances.

Parry beat out a hugely competitive field of finalists that also included Dom Besag from Saint Mary’s, Evan Roode from Arkansas State, and Eduan van Heerden from Lindenwood.

The Rudy Scholz Award is named after Rudolph Scholz (1896-1981), who played for Santa Clara and as a halfback helped lead the USA to Olympic gold medals in rugby in 1920 and 1924. He served in both World Wars, volunteering to serve in World War II when he was in his 40s, and was decorated in both. A successful lawyer and lifelong rugby player, Rudy Scholz played his final rugby game when he was 83. 

The Rudy Scholz Award is presented by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle, Washington and has been given every year since 2016. The award is announced in the spring and officially presented at a gala event at the WAC in Seattle in June. This year’s event is June 8. 

Past Rudy Scholz Award Winners:
2016: Dylan Audsley, Saint Mary's
2017: Bryce Campbell, Indiana
2018: Connor McNerney, Navy
2019: Harley Wheeler, Life University
2020: Payton Telea-Ilalio, Saint Mary's
2021: Emmanuel Albert, Lindenwood
2022: Larry Williams, West Point
2023: Lewis Gray, Navy