Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

Who's Where In D1 Rugby?

irish rugby tours

Who's Where In D1 Rugby?

USA Rugby's D1A seems to have emerged as the dominant post-season in college rugby.

We haven't heard anything specific about the Varsity Cup, but that's the problem. With perennial Varsity Cup teams seemingly getting closer to D1A, it looks as though things might drift that way even more.

We at Goff Rugby Report have been shifting most of our DI college content to FloRugby.com. So if you want to see more of what we're writing, you should go there.

One More Team To Join D1A?

New D1AA Rankings

Top DI College Players This Week

All-D1 Top 50

Rugby East Latest

SCRC Latest

Chesapeake Latest

Liberty Latest

D1A and D1AA Scores


But, if you just want to know who's where and what, we can accommodate you here.

There are 69 teams in D1A, with one more expected to join the rolls:


D1A Teams For 2017-18
Air Force Grand Canyon San Diego State
Albany Houston Santa Clara
Arizona Illinois St. Bonaventure
Arizona State Indiana St. Mary's
Arkansas Iona Stony Brook
Arkansas State Iowa Syracuse
Army Kutztown TCU
Baylor Life Texas
Binghamton Lindenwood Texas A&M
Brockport LSU Texas Tech
Buffalo Michigan Tufts
BYU Michigan State UC Davis
Cal Poly Minnesota UC Santa Barbara
California Navy UCLA
Clemson New Mexico UConn
Colgate Northeastern UMass
Colorado Notre Dame College USC
Colorado State Ohio State Utah
Cortland Oklahoma Utah State
Davenport Penn State Utah Valley University
Delaware Purdue Wheeling Jesuit
Fairfield Rhode Island Wisconsin
Fordham Rutgers Wyoming

This list includes teams playing an affiliated conference schedule (BYU and Utah Valley), and teams playing an independent schedule (Navy, Grand Canyon). It does not include Central Washington.


We also have 85 teams in D1AA. This list below does include independent teams such as AIC, NEC, and Lindenwood-Belleville, but does not include Boston College. BC is playing an independent season without a conference, but considers its season D1A. BC, however, has not been accepted as a D1A independent team. This list also doesn't include Texas State and North Texas, who compete in a hybrid D1/D2 league in the Lonestar.


D1AA Teams For 2017-18
AIC IUP San Diego
Alabama James Madison San Francisco State
Auburn Kansas San Jose State
Boise State Kansas State Sanford
Boston College Kentucky Santa Barbara CC
Bowling Green KSU South Carolina
Brown Lindenwood-Belleville Tennessee
Cal State Fullerton Louisville Towson
Central Michigan Mary Washington Truman State
Chico State Maryland UC Irvine
Cincinnati Memphis UC San Diego
Columbia Miami UCCS
Cornell Mississippi State UCF
CSULB Missouri UNF
Dartmouth ​Mount St. Mary's USC
FAU Nebraska Virginia
FIU NEC Virginia Tech
Florida Nevada Washington State
Fresno State NIU Western Michigan
FSU Ohio Yale
Georgetown Oklahoma State Rowan
Georgia Ole Miss West Chester
Georgia Southern Oregon Temple
Georgia Tech Oregon State Villanova
Gonzaga Penn Saint Joseph's
Harvard Pittsburgh West Virginia
Idaho Princeton  
Iowa State Salisbury