Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

St. Joseph Wins Girls Single-School Nationals

irish rugby tours

St. Joseph Wins Girls Single-School Nationals

Fourteen girls single-school HS rugby teams converged on Lindenwood University in St. Charles, Mo. this past weekend for the Girls Single-School Championships.

The teams were seeded into two groups of eight, a Division I and a Division II. In DI, Summit out of Colorado, which plays its regular season in the fall, made the final despite not having played much 15s, if any, for six months, but were defeated by an excellent St. Joseph's out of Ohio 29-14. St. Joe's had earlier logged a huge upset, beating Divine Savior Holy Angels for the first time in the program's history.

The field in DI included Colorado champs Summit, top Wisconsin teams Catholic Memorial and Divine Savior, top Indiana team Warsaw, Tennessee champs McMinn County, Hawaii winners Kahuku, Pennsylvania champs State College, and current Rugby Ohio standings leaders St. Joseph's.

Summit and St. Joe's had perhaps the toughest starts to the tournament, facing State College and Kahuku, respectively - both hard-hitting, uncompromising teams. But both got by while Catholic Memorial and DSHA won fairly convincingly. But that didn't help the Wisconsin teams in the semis. Summit shut out Memorial, while St. Joseph edged DSHA 19-17 in a thriller.

In the final, Summit led 14-12 at halftime, but took a yellow card, and St. Joseph capitalized, scoring two crucial tries to pull ahead, and after that Summit just couldn't break St. Joe's D.

Here are all the scores. 

QF: Catholic Memorial 22-7 McMinn 
QF: Summit 26-14 State College 
QF: Divine Savior Holy Angels 24-5 Warsaw
QF: St. Joseph 17-15 Kahuku 
SF: Summit 17-0 Catholic Memorial 
SF: St. Joseph 19-17 Divine Savior Holy Angels 
Cons SF: State College 34-10 McMinn
Cons SF: Kahuku 12-12 Warsaw. Kahuku advances on kicks

7th Place: Warsaw (Ind) 43-28 McMinn (TN)
5th Place: Kahuku (HA) 28-10 State College (PA)
3rd Place: DSHA (WI) 25-0 Catholic Memorial (WI)
Final: St. Joseph (OH) 29-14 Summit (CO)

In the DII competition, it all the Midwest all the way. Penn defeated Kansas City, Sebastian River (Fla.), and then Ohio-s Hudson to take the title.

Penn 31-12 Kansas City 
Penn 46-0 Sebastian River
Hudson 44-7 Oak Creek
Hudson 26-9 Broken Arrow 
Kansas City 15-12 Sebastian River 
Broken Arrow 24-7 Oak Creek
5th Place: Kansas City 30-26 Oak Creek (WI)
3rd Place: Broken Arrow (OK) 32-7 Sebastian River (FL)
Final: Penn (Ind) 40-29 Hudson (OH)