Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

SCRC Names All-Conference Teams

irish rugby tours

SCRC Names All-Conference Teams

Ben Schwartz for Tennessee.

The Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference has announced the selections to the 2019 All Conference Teams. 

This year, the conference has selected an all-conference team from the D1AA competition, an all-conference team from the DII competition, and an overall first 15 Dream Team.  Each team was given the opportunity to nominate players from their own team plus identify players from the fall competition that they then could also nominate.

The D1AA All-Conference team is lead by a very talented group of men, including Kennesaw State’s Ben Dorsey at center, Kentucky’s Brendon Esson at flyhalf and Tennessee’s Ben Schwartz at fullback. Forward standouts include locks Greg Janowick (Tennessee) and Campbell Robinson (KSU), and Alabama’s Ethan Miner at Flanker.

The DII All-Conference team is led in the forwards by Memphis’  front rowers Austin Kelley and Musa Banat, along with Auburn’s Jerome Bohuslavizki at No. 8. Standout backs included centers JJ Greatrex (MTSU), Calvin Gentry (Memphis) and Sam Delmerico (Georgia Tech).

The 2019 15s D1AA Player of the Year is the University of Tennessee's Ben Schwartz. Schwartz (Senior Mechanical Engineering major from Knoxville, Tenn.) led the Volunteers at fullback in a season that saw more teams than ever before turn to tactical kicking. He capped the year with 16 points in the conference championship match (four conversions, one penalty kick, and one try).  The MVP of the conference championship match is also the 2019 SCRC D1AA Player of the Year.

The 2019 15s DII Player of the year is the University of Memphis’ Austin Kelley.  Kelley (Sophomore from Collierville, Tenn.) led the Tigers at prop in a season that saw Memphis win the SCRC DII regular season title and advance to the USA DII National round of 8.  

2019 SCRC Dream Team
1    Austin Kelley, Memphis
2    Dirk van den Berg, Kentucky
3    Nick Brune, Alabama
4    Greg Janowick, Tennessee
5    Campbell Robinson, Kennesaw St
6    Ethan Miner, Alabama
7    Andy Lloyd, Tennessee
8    Patrick Beacom, Tennessee
9    Luke Davies, Tennessee
10    Brendan Esson, Kentucky
11    Jacob Geoppner, Kentucky
12    Ben Dorsey, Kennesaw St
13    JJ Greatrex, MTSU
14    Chris Bagby, Kennesaw St
15    Ben Schwartz, Tennessee

2019 SCRC D1AA All Conference

Caleb Strum, Alabama
Matt Pikowski, Alabama
Shea O'Hanlon, Kennesaw State
Ben Dorsey, Kennesaw State
Chris Bagby, Kennesaw State
Josh Inglis, Kennesaw State
Brendon Esson, Kentucky
Jacob Goeppner, Kentucky
Connor Hoefer, South Carolina
Luke Harris, South Carolina
Ben Schwartz, Tennessee
Luke Davies, Tennessee

Ethan Miner, Alabama
Nick Brune, Alabama
Michael Curran, Georgia
Campbell Robinson, Kennesaw State
Dirk van den Berg, Kentucky
Anthony Mencini, Kentucky
Tommy Maxwell, South Carolina
Greg Janowick, Tennessee
Andy Lloyd, Tennessee
Patrick Beacom, Tennessee
Creighton Couch, Tennessee

2019 SCRC DII All Conference

Sam Delmerico, Georgia Tech
Brittin Roedel, Memphis
Alec Sisco, Memphis
Calvin Gentry, Memphis
John Dentamore, Mississippi State
Cam Massengil, Mississippi State
JJ Greatrex, MTSU
Devauntae Beasley, MTSU

Jerome Bohsulavizki, Auburn
Mason Williamson, Auburn
Jermiah Russell, Georgia Tech
Andrew Allen, Georgia Tech
Jas Pyneni, Georgia Tech
Austin Kelley, Memphis
Musa Banat, Memphis
Jason Leonard, Mississippi State
Colby Pearl, MTSU
Jaxon Wallace, MTSU