GRR on X  GRR on Facebook GRR in Instagram GRR Vimeo Library GRR on YouTube RuggaMatrix America Podcasts Support GRR on Patreon

Rudy Scholz Award Nominations Named

irish rugby tours

Rudy Scholz Award Nominations Named

2023 Scholz Award winner Lewis Gray with Rudy Scholz's grandson, Doug. Emilio Huertas photo for WAC.

With help from a panel of coaches and media, the nominations for the 2023-24 Rudy Scholz Award have been finalized.

The Rudy Scholz Award is awarded to the best men's collegiate rugby player in the nation every year. Sponsored and presented by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle, the Scholz Award was first presented in 2016, with Saint Mary's player Dylan Audsley receiving the trophy. Rudy Scholz was a double gold medal-winner in rugby for the USA in 1920 and 1924. He played rugby at Santa Clara and served and was decorated in both World War I and World Ward II. He played rugby into his 80s and was a a prominent attorney throughout his professional life. He died in 1981.

Since then, a long list of excellent rugby players and accomplished student-athletes have been honored:

Rudy Scholz Award Winners:
2016: Dylan Audsley, Saint Mary's
2017: Bryce Campbell, Indiana
2018: Connor McNerney, Navy
2019: Harley Wheeler, Life
2020: Peyton Telea Ilalio, Saint Mary's
2021: Emmanuel Albert, Lindenwood
2022: Larry Williams, West Point
2023: Lewis Gray, Navy

Three of these are now representing the USA in the US Military.

The Nominees Are:

2024 Scholz Award Nominees
Nominee College
Caden Crist Cal
Calvin Liulamaga CWU
Cole Semu BYU
Dom Besag Saint Mary's
Eduan Van Heerden Lindenwood
EJ Freeman Arizona
Eric Storti Saint Mary's
Evan Roode Arkansas State
Hayden McKay Mount St. Mary's
Ishma-eel Safodien Life
Jack Phillips Kentucky
Oliver Corbett Brown
Peyton Wall Indiana
Remy Thomson Notre Dame College
Roanin Krieger Navy
Tiaan Mosconi West Point
Vaughn Schmitz Navy
Wyatt Parry BYU

Fans Can Help

Fans and college rugby programs can help vote for the finalists. The form is below. A finalists group of four or five (if it's really close) will then be voted on by the selection panel to select the winner. The winner receives his trophy at a gala event June 8, 2024 at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle, Wash.