GRR on X  GRR on Facebook GRR in Instagram GRR Vimeo Library GRR on YouTube RuggaMatrix America Podcasts Support GRR on Patreon

MA Sorensen Nominations Named

irish rugby tours

MA Sorensen Nominations Named

2023 winner Mae Sagapolu receives her trophy from fellow prop MA Sorensen. Emilio Huertas photo for Washington Athletic Club.

With help from a panel of coaches and media, the nominations for the 2023-24 MA Sorensen Award have. been finalized.

The MA Sorensen Award is awarded to the best women's collegiate rugby player in the nation every year. Sponsored and presented by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle, the Sorensen Award was first presented in 2016, with Penn State's Hope Rogers receiving the trophy from MaryAnn Sorensen herself.

Since then, a long list of excellent rugby players and accomplished student-athletes have been honors:

MA Sorensen Award Winners:
2016: Hope Rogers, Penn State
2017: Ilona Maher, Quinnipiac
2018: McKenzie Hawkins, Lindenwood
2019: Emily Henrich, Dartmouth
2020: Spiff Sedrick, Life University
2021: Richelle Stephens, Lindenwood
2022: Idia Ihensekhien, Dartmouth
2023: Keia Mae Sagapolu, Central Washington

Every winner except Ihensekhien (who is Canadian) has been capped by the USA in 15s or 7s.

The Nominees Are:

2024 Sorensen Award Nominees
Nominee College
Akilah Cathey Brown
Alivia Leatherman Notre Dame College
Alyssa Cunningham Sacred Heart
Amy Brice Lindenwood
Ashley Cowdrey Davenport
Cindy Taulava Dartmouth
Ember Larson Michigan
Freda Tafuna Lindenwood
Kat Storey Quinnipiac
Kat Stowers BYU
Lennox London Harvard
Matilda Kocaj Life
Nikki Lynch Brown
Sia Meni Dartmouth
Taina Tukuafu Lindenwood
Tessa Hann Central Washington
Tiahna Padilla Harvard

Fans Can Help

Fans and college rugby programs can help vote for the finalists. The form is below. A finalists group of four or five (if it's really close) will then be voted on by the selection panel to select the winner. The winner receives her trophy at a gala event June 8, 2024 at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle, Wash.

Every winner has a signed jersey on display at the Washington Athletic Club. Photo Washington Athletic Club.

Vote For the Finalists Here!