Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

LA 7s, LAI Postponed to August

irish rugby tours

LA 7s, LAI Postponed to August

David Barpal photo.

Carson, Calif.– World Rugby and USA Rugby announced today that the upcoming US leg of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, the LA Sevens, set to take place March 5- 6, 2022 at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, Calif., will be rescheduled to August 27-28, 2022 due to the logistical challenges associated with the COVID-19 pandemic and the global nature of the World Series event.

The new dates will serve as the Grand Finale of the Men’s Series.

“While unfortunate to hear of the necessary postponements, we understand and support the need to reschedule the LA7s, ensuring all participating teams and spectators alike have the ability to travel and enjoy the event safely. We very much appreciate the support from World Rugby and AEG Rugby in finding a rescheduled date and opportunity for the rugby community to come together in 2022,” said Ross Young, CEO of USA Rugby.

Fans who have already purchased tickets for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series at Dignity Health Sports Park in March should hold their tickets as they will be honored at the rescheduled event in August.

Those requesting refunds are advised to contact their original point of purchase.

World Rugby Chief Executive Alan Gilpin said: “Together with the tournament hosts we believe rescheduling the dates of the Vancouver and Los Angeles rounds of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is a sensible and pragmatic decision.

“The global nature of the Series and the logistical restrictions associated with the ongoing and dynamic nature of the pandemic continue to present a challenge to all stakeholders. Our collective focus is on ensuring the events are as safe, impactful and enjoyable as possible for all involved and therefore rescheduling is the best course of action.”

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is an annual series of international rugby sevens tournaments taking place over 10 global cities including Dubai, Vancouver, Singapore and London, and featuring national teams from the top 16 countries. Participating Teams in this year’s HSBC LA SEVENS will include: USA, England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, France, Spain, Canada, Argentina, Kenya, Japan, Australia, Fiji, Samoa, New Zealand and South Africa. 

The associated LA Invitational is also, likewise, postponed to August.