Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

HS Nationals Breakdown: Who And What

irish rugby tours

HS Nationals Breakdown: Who And What

Dan Bandoni photo.

The Boys HS Rugby National Championships has seen a massive changeover for 2019.

Announced last week, the field of 24 teams has nine changes from 2018, which is significant in what organizers said was the most competitive field of applicants they had ever seen.

Last year, the mix of single-school and HS club was not even — there were in fact 13 club teams and 11 single-school teams. As a result, while there are four new single-school teams this year—East HS, Kahuku, Snow Canyon, and Rocky Mountain—only three teams do not return. Those are Fishers, Brownsburg, and St. Edward.

In the HS Club division, it's the other way around, which one fewer among the new teams. Five do not return: South Bay, Rhinos, Fort Hunt, Union, and Phoenix Alpharetta. Four teams, Raleigh, Lamorinda, Charlotte Tigers, and Back Bay, come in fresh.

Interestingly, while the Single-School bracket has a decidedly more western look, the club bracket does not. 

Among single-school teams, six teams are from western states, defined as states touching the Pacific Ocean, or touching a state that touches the Pacific. Six teams are from the East or Midwest. In 2018, only two out of the 11 teams were from the West.

Among the HS Clubs, the balance hasn't changed much. The bracket lost two teams from California, and one each from Virginia, New Jersey, and Georgia, while adding two teams each from California and North Carolina.

The top two teams from each bracket last year (Single-School, HS Club, and Tier II) all return.

The only team that made the top two in the previous three years not to return in 2019 is Fort Hunt.

The 2019 Boys HS National Championships will be held May 16-18 and will be shown LIVE on FloRugby.


Boys HS Historical Champions
Boys HS Single-school
Year Location 1st 2nd 3rd 4th
2018 Kansas City, MO Gonzaga Herriman Jesuit Xavier
2017 Kansas City, MO Jesuit-Sac. Gonzaga Penn Herriman
2016 Charlotte, NC Gonzaga Jesuit-Sac. Xavier Penn
2015 Charlotte, NC Gonzaga Jesuit-Sac. Herriman Penn
2014 Elkhart IN Gonzaga Jesuit-Sac. Penn Xavier
2013 Elkhart IN Jesuit-Sac. Gonzaga Xavier Penn
2012 Sandy UT Dixon Penn Xavier Gonzaga
2011 Sandy UT Jesuit-Sac. Xavier Gonzaga Charlotte Catholic
2010 Sandy UT Xavier Gonzaga Jesuit-Sac. Charlotte Catholic
2009 Pittsburgh PA Jesuit-Sac. Christian Brothers Xavier Gonzaga
2008 Pittsburgh PA Jesuit-Sac. ND de la Salette Penn St. Thomas
Boys HS Multi-school
Year Location 1st 2nd 3rd 4th
2017 Kansas City, MO Royal Irish Fort Hunt Granite Bay Doylestown
2016 Charlotte, NC Granite Bay Royal Irish United KC Jr. Blues
2015 Charlotte, NC Royal Irish Granite Bay United West Shore
2014 Elkhart IN Royal Irish Santa Monica Danville San Diego
2013 Elkhart IN United Royal Irish Danville Colorado Springs
2012 Sandy UT Royal Irish United Colorado Springs KC Jr Blues
2011 Sandy UT Highland United Royal Irish KC Jr Blues
2010 Sandy UT United Highland Katy Belmont Shore
2009 Pittsburgh PA Highland United KC Jr Blues West Shore Utd.
2008 Pittsburgh PA Highland United Westerville Katy
Boys HS Combined
Year Location 1st 2nd 3rd 4th
2007 Salt Lake City UT Highland Jesuit-Sac. Penn KC Jr Blues
2006 Hanover NH Jesuit-Sac. Highland Katy Westerville
2005 Palto Alo CA Highland Elsie Allen Penn Dallas Harlequins
2004 Fort Worth TX Jesuit-Sac. Highland Dallas Harlequins Penn
2003 Kelly TX Highland Jesuit-Sac. Kent Wilmington
2002 Columbus OH Highland Westerville Jesuit-Sac. Xavier
2001 Columbus OH Highland Westerville Xavier Burbank
2000 Provo UT Highland Jesuit-Sac. Westerville Xavier
1999 Provo UT Jesuit-Sac. Greenwich Highland Park Hill
1998 Indianapolis IN Highland Westerville Gonzaga Worthington
1997 Provo UT Highland Xavier Del Campo Redmond
1996 Fort Belvoir VA Highland Doylestown Redmond Worthington
1995 Minneapolis MN Highland Whitman Doylestown Fort Collins
1994 Parker CO Highland Redmond Whitman Xavier
1993 Seattle WA Xavier Highland Redmond Skyline
1992 Doylestown PA Highland St. Louis Druids Doylestown Xavier
1991 Indianapolis IN Highland Whitman St. Louis Druids Xavier
1990 San Antonio TX Highland Alamo City Doylestown Liberty
1989 Salt Lake City UT Highland Burlingame Xavier Whitemarsh
1988 Washington DC Highland Burlingame    
1987 Denver CO Burlingame Highland Alamo City Langley
1986 Cupertino CA Highland Burlingame Bellarmine Los Gatos
1985 Washington DC Xavier Highland Burlingame Redwood
1984 San Francisco CA Lamorinda Del Campo Xavier Harvard
1983 Washington DC Highland Langley Serra Seneca Valley
1982 Palto Alto CA Redwood Highland Serra Turlock
1981 Dayton OH Redwood Seneca Valley Langley Elder


2019 Boys HS Nationals Teams:

HS Club: Aspetuck Valley (CT), Back Bay (CA), Charlotte Tigers (NC), Danville (CA), Eastside (WA), Granite Bay (CA), KC Jr. Blues (MO), Lamorinda (CA), Raleigh (NC), Royal Irish (IN), San Diego Mustangs (CA), United (UT)

Single-School: East HS (CO), Gonzaga (DC), Greenwich (CT), Herriman (UT), Jesuit (CA), Kahuku (HI), Penn (IN), Snow Canyon (UT), Rocky Mountain (ID), St. Thomas Aquinas (KS), Wando (SC), Xavier (NY)