Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

Hong Kong, Singapore 7s Rescheduled Due To Health Crisis

irish rugby tours

Hong Kong, Singapore 7s Rescheduled Due To Health Crisis

World Rugby Logo

World Rugby, the Hong Kong Rugby Union and Sport Singapore have taken the decision to reschedule the Hong Kong and Singapore rounds of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2020 in response to continued health concerns relating to the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

In a statement, World Rugby said this: "The health and safety of our players, fans and everyone working on the event is always our highest priority. This prudent decision has been taken in order to help protect the global rugby community and the wider public and was taken based on the World Health Organisation and relevant public authority travel and health guidelines. The decision is fully supported by stakeholders, including unions and commercial partners."

Both events will be rescheduled to conclude the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2020 with the HSBC Singapore Sevens now taking place on 10-11 October and the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens completing the series on 16-18 October.

Hong Kong and Singapore will host HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2021 tournaments as per usual in April.

Fans who have purchased tickets for Singapore and Hong Kong via official channels are advised that their tickets will be honored for the rescheduled events and a full refund will be provided in the event fans are unable to attend the rescheduled events.

So what this means is the World Series will conclude after the Olympics, and right before the 2020-21 season begins.

The new 2019-20 World Series schedule is therefore as follows:

Glendale (Women Only) October 5-6, 2019: Champions - USA

Dubai December 5-7, 2019: Champions (Men) - South Africa; Champions (Women) - New Zealand

Cape Town December 13-15, 2019: Champions (Men) - New Zealand; Champions (Women) - New Zealand 

Hamilton January 25-26: Champions (Men) - New Zealand; Champions (Women) - New Zealand

Sydney February 1-2: Champions (Men) - Fiji; Champions (Women) - New Zealand

Los Angeles (Men Only) February 29-March 1: Buy Tickets

Vancouver (Men Only) March 7-8

Langford (Women Only) May 2-3

London (Men Only) May 23-24

Paris May 30-31

Singapore (Men Only) Oct 10-11

Hong Kong October 16-18