Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

Full Slate of Tournaments for 2022 HSBC Sevens World Series

irish rugby tours

Full Slate of Tournaments for 2022 HSBC Sevens World Series

The LA 7s will be back. David Barpal photo.

World Rugby has confirmed the schedule for the 2022 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022 as the game comes out of repeated COVID interruptions.

The LA 7s is back, to be held March 5-6. The USA stop for the women's circuit is not back. The Women's World Series expands to seven tournaments, with only one, Langford BC< being a stand-alone event with no associated men's tournament.

Some Geographical Shifts

The 2022 Series will feature 10 men’s and seven women’s rounds over six months, kicking off with a pair of combined men’s and women’s events in Dubai. The Emirates Dubai Sevens will host a behind closed doors round on 26-27 November, 2021, followed by a second event on 3-4 December with fans in attendance at The Sevens Stadium.

The Series will then return to Europe as Spain plays host for the first time with combined men’s and women’s events in Malaga and Seville on 21-23 and 28-30 January, 2022 respectively. The new venues in Spain temporarily replace traditional Series hosts Sydney, Australia, and Hamilton, New Zealand, who were unable to host in 2022 due to the logistical challenges associated with the COVID-19 pandemic in their region.

The choice of Spain is actually, in retrospect, a no-brainer. British citizens, especially, but people from all over the colder parts of Europe, love to spend winter vacations in the Costa del Sol in Spain. Having a rugby event during January in that area could easily attract fans.

The men’s Series continues with  North American rounds in Vancouver on 26-27 February and Los Angeles on 5-6 March before moving to Asia where Hong Kong returns to host a combined men’s and women’s event on 1-3 April, followed by a men’s event in Singapore on 9-10 April. A women’s standalone event will take place in Langford, Canada, on 30 April-1 May before both men’s and women’s teams travel to a new Series venue in Toulouse, France, on 20-22 May where the women’s Series champions will be crowned. The men’s Series concludes with the final event in London on 28-29 May.

Team Changes

There are also changes with the competing teams. Japan join the men’s Series as a core team following their promotion as HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series champions in 2020.

Great Britain will compete in the opening two rounds of the Series in Dubai, as part of the standing agreement to play the calendar year 2021, before reverting to compete as national unions for the remainder of the 2022 Series, with England, Scotland and Wales participating in the men’s Series and England in the women’s series.

The 16 men’s core teams after the Dubai events are Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA, and Wales.

South Africa will enter the 2022 Series as defending champions after claiming the 2021 title in Edmonton, Canada, in September, while New Zealand, who were unable to compete in Canada, were the 2020 Series winners.

The 11 core women’s teams after the Dubai events are Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain, and USA. New Zealand’s Black Ferns Sevens will be aiming to defend their title after being crowned champions in 2020.

Noting that Great Britain will compete in the opening two rounds, a points system will be developed that promotes fairness for all competing teams, including those who comprise Great Britain. This will also recognize situations where teams may not be able to participate in any rounds owing to COVID-19.

But Wait There's More

Rugby sevens players and fans can look forward to a very busy and exciting year in 2022 with the Series followed by the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham on 29-31 July and concluding with Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town on 9-11 September.

“Following an outstandingly competitive and highly impactful Olympic Games competition it is fantastic to announce a full schedule for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022 today," said World Rugby Chief Executive Alan Gilpin. “Alongside popular and traditional rugby sevens venues it will be exciting to take the Series to new venues in Spain and France as the game continues to expand and captivate new audiences around the world with its fast, skilful and thrilling format. Rugby sevens is a key driver of global growth for our sport, particularly in emerging nations, and it firmly remains a top priority for our organization.

“A lot of hard work has gone on behind the scenes to ensure we can announce a full Series schedule today and we thank HSBC, the host organizations, unions, commercial and broadcast partners for their unwavering support and spirit of collaboration as we navigate the challenges of the global COVID-19 pandemic together."

2022 Sevens World Series Schedule:

November 26-27 Dubai (Men and Women - no fans)
December 3-4 Dubai (Men and Women - fans allowed)
January 21-23 Malaga, Spain (Men and Women)
January 28-30 Seville, Spain (Men and Women)
February 26-27 Vancouver BC (Men)
March 5-6 Los Angeles, Calif. (Men)
April 1-3 Hong Kong (Men and Women)
April 9-10 Singapore (Men)
April 30-May 1 Langford, BC (Women)
May 20-22 Toulouse, France (Men and Women)
May 28-29 London, UK (Men)