Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

Four From Rugby Northeast Move To NEWCRC

irish rugby tours

Four From Rugby Northeast Move To NEWCRC

Nowich is one of the four teams moving to the NEWCRC.

The New England-Wide Collegiate Rugby Conference has expanded as four teams from the Rugby Northeast have joined.

With New England College and Middlebury moving to a small-college division, only four teams were left in the RNE. Those four teams—Norwich, UMass Lowell, Bentley, and Providence—all then moved to the NEWCRC because the Rugby Northeast was too small.

This helps form a hugely competitive Men's D2 College conference, with five teams that made the national playoffs last fall. And that doesn't include Coast Guard and Bentley, both of which came very close to make those playoffs.

That makes a list of 11 teams in the Tier 1 of the NEWCRC: Vermont, Boston University, Coast Guard, Quinnipiac, Hartford, Southern Connecticut, Sacred Heart, Norwich, UMass Lowell, Bentley, and Providence.

NEWCRC also has a Tier 2 which numbered seven teams: Westfield State, New Hampshire, Saint Michael's, Springfield, Central Connecticut State, Western Connecticut, and Worcester Polytechnic.

NEWCRC has not announced where it will operate next season.