GRR on X  GRR on Facebook GRR in Instagram GRR Vimeo Library GRR on YouTube RuggaMatrix America Podcasts Support GRR on Patreon

CRAA Championship Weekend Taking Shape

irish rugby tours

CRAA Championship Weekend Taking Shape

Roger Mazzarella photo.

The College Rugby Association of America (CRAA) postseason is becoming clearer as November arrives.

Women D2 and ACRA

The American College Rugby Association, which is for D2-level women's conferences, will host playoffs on November 20 and 21 at Vassar College in Poughkeepsie. Vassar is one of the favored teams here, but there will also be teams from Mid-Atlantic, Rugby Northeast, the NEWCRC, the rest of the Tri-State, and the Rocky Mountain Conference. The Rocky Mountain is not an ACRA conference, but operates under CRAA, but they are playing into the ACRA playoffs. Eight teams will meet up at Vassar to play quarterfinals and semifinals. The final two teams left will meet at the end-of-season championship weekend in North Carolina.

Men D2

Most of men's D2 college rugby is playing within the NCR structure, but the SCRC and Rocky Mountain have been operating independently. Montana State is the top team in the Rocky Mountain, while the SCRC is still working through its season. On November 13 the SCRC top four will play the semis and on November 20 the final. 


A series of DIA Bowl Games will be played at the finals weekend, and those matchups are being finalized.

Women D1

Quarterfinal and semifinal rounds will be held at the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md., and at the University of Oklahoma in Norman, Okla.

Eight teams will be involved.

Independent DIAA

Two DIAA conferences that basically operate on their own will have a championship, with the winners of the MAC and the SCRC facing off in NC.

Finals Weekend

On December 4 and 5 CRAA will host and sponsor the championship games at the Mecklenburg County Sportsplex in the Charlotte, NC area (also known as the Matthews Sportsplex). That weekend will see the DIA Bowl Games, the Men's D2 Championship between the SCRC and Rocky Mountain champions, the Men's independent DIAA Championship between the MAC and SCRC champions, the ACRA D2 Women's final, and the Women's DI final.