Goff Rugby Twitter     Goff Rugby Facebook

2022 Scholz Award Nominees Named

irish rugby tours

2022 Scholz Award Nominees Named

The Rudy Scholz Award is presented by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle, Wash.

With input from fans and coaches around the country, the Rudy Scholz Award Panel has named its 2021-22 Scholz Award Nominees.

These 16 players will be whittled down to a group of finalists with the help of the rugby community, who get to vote on who should be finalists.

The vote on who you would like to see as a finalist, see the form below.

The Rudy Scholz Award is named after two-time Olympic Gold Medalist Rudy Scholz, who played for the USA team in the 1920 and 1924 Olympics. He also served with distinction in both World War I and World War II, and was a successful attorney throughout a life that saw him play rugby into his 80s. This year, a player from his alma mater, Santa Clara, is nominated. The Scholz family has been enormously support of the efforts of the Washington Athletic Club to present this award, and it is with sadness that we remember the passing of Dave Scholz, Rudy's youngest son, in 2021.

Dave attended every awards dinner at the Washington Athletic Club and loved the fact that his father is remembered in this award.

The Rudy Scholz Award and the MA Sornesen Award for the best men's and women's college rugby players in the country will be given June 11, 2022 at the Washington Athletic Club gala event in Seattle, Wash.   

The Nominees are:

2022 Scholz Nominee College
Daelen Denenberg Santa Clara
Sam Golla Cal
Lewis Gray Navy
Aidan King Penn State
Lucas LaCamp UCLA
Joe Marchant Saint Mary's
Jared Miller Life University
Dalton Mussellman Penn State
Dylan Parry BYU
Lucas Pattinson West Point
Marnus Spangenberg Lindenwood
Billy Tenney BYU
Mike Weir Dartmouth
Jack Wendling Central Washington
Evan Williams Lindenwood
Larry Williams West Point

You can also see the voter form here>>